Overview of Chengdu University of Technology

Chengdu Institute of Geological Exploration, the former main body of Chengdu University of Technology and founded in March, 1956, started to recruit undergraduate students since its foundation. In 1958, Chengdu Institute of Geological Exploration was renamed as Chengdu Institute of Geology. In 1960, the institute began to enroll graduate students, and in 1983 became one of the first universities which recruited doctoral students since the degree system was restored in China. In 1993, Chengdu Institute of Geology was renamed as Chengdu Institute of Technology. In 2001, with the approval of the Ministry of Education, Chengdu Institute of Technology amalgamated with Sichuan Commercial College and Non-ferrous Geology staff College and was renamed as Chengdu University of Technology (CDUT). As one of the key universities under the Ministry of Geology, the Ministry of Geology and Mineral Resources, and the Ministry of Land and Resources, Chengdu University of Technology is presently one of the key universities of Sichuan Province and is joint-governed by the central and provincial governments with the provincial government as the main governor In November, 2010, the Ministry of Land and Resources and the People’s Government of Sichuan Province signed an agreement to joint-construct Chengdu University of Technology.

With half a century of construction and development, Chengdu University of Technology has become a multidisciplinary university specialized in geology, energy resources, environment, engineering, and electronic information, etc. and provides diploma and degree programs at bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels. More than 30,000 full-time students are registered, including 24,000 undergraduate students and 5,000 graduate and doctorate students. The university boasts a qualified faculty of over 2,100 full-time teachers, including 210 professors and 422 associate professors.


Chengdu University of Technology has 16 colleges, an Institute of Sedimentary Geology and an Institute of Geological Survey. There are 71 undergraduate programs, including 8 National Feature Programs, 5 first-grade doctoral programs, 35 second-grade doctoral programs, 18 first-grade master’s programs and 115 second-grade master’s programs (including professional master programs), which respectively belong to the following 9 disciplines: science, engineering, arts, management, economics, law, philosophy, agriculture and education .

As one of the important academic bases for high level talents cultivation and scientific research, Chengdu University of Technology has 2 state key laboratories (one co-constructed with Southeast University of Petroleum), 2 provincial key laboratories, a key laboratory of Ministry of Education, a provincial key laboratory of higher institutions and a provincial key research base for philosophy of social science.

Chengdu University of Technology attaches great importance to international cooperation and exchanges and has an extensive links with more than 50 universities and research institutions in 20 countries and regions. Over 2,000 foreign experts and scholars from more than 40 countries and regions have visited this university to conduct research or to lecture, and students from the United States, Australia, Germany, Austria, Korea, Japan and Russia have studied here. More than 500 staff members of this university have visited foreign countries and more than 300 international cooperative research projects have been completed. In recent years, Chengdu University of Technology has successfully held several international academic conferences.

Museum of Chengdu University of Technology enjoys a high reputation in China, especially in the west China, and has a collection of 100,000 specimens, mainly in the field of geology, of which some are national level and even world-class, high-quality treasures.