Introduction of Anhui University

Anhui University, the only key comprehensive provincial institution, is located in Hefei, the beautiful capital city of Anhui Province.

Founded in 1928 in Anqing and moved to Hefei in 1958, Anhui University is now a developing higher institution supported by the government under the State 211 Project .

Anhui University covers an area of about 207 hectares. Its library has a collection of more than 1.75 million books and over 7,000 Chinese and foreign periodicals, and it is equipped with a campus computer network. With beautiful scenery, the environment of the campus is very fine. Anhui University consists of 23 schools, 44 departments, 74 undergraduate specialties, 148master degree programs, 50Ph.D. programs, and 5 Postdoctoral Research Stations.


The University has a teaching staff of 1500, among whom more than 800 are professors or associate professors. The student population totals more than 31,000, among whom 21000 are undergraduate students and 6000 are postgraduate students.

The university attaches great importance to the international exchange and cooperation. Now, it has entered into agreements with 92 overseas institutions. It began to accept foreign students in 1980. It is authorized by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students who enjoy Chinese government’s scholarships. It was designated by Overseas Chinese Affairs Office under the State council the Teaching Base for Chinese Language and Culture in 2000.At present, students from more than 40 countries are studying in Anhui University.

International students are warmly welcomed to study and conduct research at Anhui University!



Founded: 1928

Status: Public, comprehensive university.
Key university under the jurisdiction of Anhui Provincial Government.
One of the 100 universities under “211 Project”a state project to develop higher education in China.
Authorized by the Ministry of Education to enroll international students in early 1980’s.
Designated by the Ministry of Education to accept international students who enjoy Chinese government scholarship .
Designated by the Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council as the Base for Overseas Chinese Language Education & Training .